Startseite

 

Masques

 

Theatrical Reminiscences

 

Love, lust and passion – betrayal and deception, masks and distorting mirrors: who says one has to go to the theatre for these? Long evenings during which one hardly knows what one will see anyway … It's a great deal more compact and passionate on the new GENUIN CD by the piano duo Chipak-Kushnir: after their highly praised debut with works of Brahms, they now scale the heights that mean the world with their instruments: transcriptions of Stravinsky's Petrushka, of Rigoletto, Faust and more and more – including several world premiere recordings! And all this without creaking theatre seats and coughing neighbours … Highly virtuoso and demonically sensuous, hellish and heavenly!

 

Igor Stravinsky. Three Movements from „Pétrouchka“ (arr. by Victor Babin)

                             Russian Dance

                             Pétrouchka

                             The Shrovetide Fair                         

Maurice Ravel. Alborada del gracioso (arr. by Aron Boubelnikov) 

Maurice Ravel. La valse (poème choréographique) (arr. by composer) 

Sergei Rachmaninov. Romance "It's lovely here" (arr. by Igor Tsygankov) 

Franz Liszt. Concert Paraphrase on themes from “Rigoletto” by Giuseppe Verdi

                            (arr. by Adolf Gottlieb)  

Abram Chasins. Carmen Fantasy on themes by Georges Bizet 

Abram Chasins. Fledermaus Fantasy on themes by Johann Strauß 

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. The Flight of the Bumblebee (arr. by Mario Braggiotti) 

Witold Lutosławski. Paganini variations

Order Your CD here

Johannes Brahms, Works for Piano Duo

Sonate op. 34b
The Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn,
The Variations on a Theme by Schumann


Booklet als PDF

You want to glance over the shoulder of a famous composer? The piano duo Olha Chipak und Oleksiy Kushnir makes it possible on their new GENUIN-CD: Johannes Brahms later changed his sonata for two pianos into the famous piano quintet. This sonata, more than just a preparatory work, is presented by the two pianists with all its passion in a virtuoso manner, so that strings aren’t missing at all – exactly like that the orchestra colors of the Haydn-Variations shine from 2 times 88 piano keys! The seldom played Variations on a Theme by Schumann eventually are a melancholic homage to a deceased friend of Schumann and Brahms.

„It all has to emerge from the piano, and what cannot emerge has to swing in the imagined orchestra of the audience. In this regard, the piano duo Olha Chipak und Oleksiy Kushnir (...) perfom extraordinarily. Above all, they play freely and individually, as you never hear it from always perfectly syntonic piano duos. Still, Chipak and Kushnir sound like one big piano. Magnificent.“
Süddeutsche Zeitung 30.03.2011

„The musicians from the Ukraine, graduated in Rostock and showered with prices, shift masterfully between chamber music concentration and orchestral opulence, as you can feel it in the Haydn- and Schumann-Variations.“
Leipziger Volkszeitung 13.05.2011

audio samples

miaowmusic - Bubble (mp3/ogg) Sonate. Allegro non troppo
Sonate. Andante, um poco Adagio
Sonate. Scherzo- Allegro
Haydn-Variationen. Thema: „Chorale St.Antoni“
Haydn-Variationen. Var.6 – Vivace
Haydn-Variationen. Var.7 – Grazioso
Haydn-Variationen. Finale-Andante
Schumann-Variationen. Var.1- Andante molto moderato
Schumann-Variationen. Var. 3
Schumann-Variationen. Var.5 – Poco piu animato
Schumann-Variationen. Var.8 – Poco piu vivo


Order Your CD here.


Piano Duo - Olha Chipak & Oleksiy Kushnir
Johannes Brahms, Max Reger & Sergei Rachmaninov
EAN 4820037060015



The first CD of the piano duo Olha Chipak & Oleksiy Kushnir contains works by Johannes Brahms, Max Reger and Sergei Rachmaninov.

“Variations on a Theme by Haydn, op.56b” is a tribute to love from Brahms to classical art. Its topic is the pilgrim’s song, “St. Anthony Chorale”, which became known as second part of Haydn’s composed divertissement for winds. The eight Variations are like eight profound pictures, in which Brahms shows the abundance of his romantic feelings. The cycle is crowned by the finale in the form of a passacaglia with coda; the thereby achieved monumental completion is equal to the majestic finale of Brahms' Fourth Symphony.

Max Reger combines the Romantic with the New Era and simultaneously picks up polyphonic forms and baroque composing techniques. In his opera “Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Beethoven, Op.86” every Variation becomes a separate piece of music, with distinct genre, type of development and temper – excited, elegie-like or solemn. And - as a great master of Fugue - Reger finishes the opus with a majestic Fugue.

Suite No.2 op.17 was created by Sergei Rachmaninov almost simultaneously with his famous 2nd piano concert. This two operas shed unrestrained intimate, lyrical feelings, which imbued the soul of the young musician. The suite, composed of four parts (introduction, waltz, romance and tarantella), is regarded as a brilliant concert piece, which impresses through magnificent sound and virtuoso opulence and carries the Rachmaninov-like romantic interpretation of the piano.

The piano duo Olha Chipak & Oleksiy Kushnir enters deeply into the essence, the nature of the operas through its play and accomplishes with fatalistic energy and a lot of sensitivity a genuine opus of the present. In a dramaturgically skilful way they unleash rhythmical forces with the language of music and leave harmonic-rich impressions. With much artistic seriousness a panorama of fresh and vivid color and sound conversions and a individual musical language is created. Melodic inspirations push the audience in front and correspond with delicate tones. With good reason this piano duo has received various significant prices and awards for its brilliant variety during the past years. A pleasure for those who understand…

„Largely dimensioned cycles fit to the temper of the ukrainian piano duo, because they have the grandezza to give contours to such big operas. With clear linear forms and transparence of polyphony they follow “Variations on a Theme by Haydn” by J. Brahms, subtly they develop the Variations by Reger and aren’t startled by his monumental style. (…) With subtlety in unrestrained pathos of S. Rachmaninov his 2nd Suite trembles under their hands!”
PianoNews June/July 2009

Order Your CD here.

audio samples

Johannes Brahms, Thema: Chorale St. Antoni. Andante
Johannes Brahms, Variation 3: Con moto
Johannes Brahms, Variation 5: Andante
Max Reger, Variation 1: Un poco piu lento
Max Reger, Variation 7: Vivace
Sergei Rachmaninov, Walzer

Startseite

 

 

Masques

 

Theatrical Reminiscences

 

Liebe, Lust und Leidenschaft – Verrat und Täuschung, Masken und Zerrspiegel:

Wer sagt denn, dass Sie dafür ins Theater gehen müssen? Lange Abende, bei denen man heutzutage eh nie weiß, was man zu sehen bekommt … Das geht wesentlich kompakter und auch glutvoller auf der neuen Genuin-CD des Klavierduos Chipak-Kushnir: Nach ihrem hochgelobten Debüt mit Werken von Brahms erklimmen sie nun mit ihren beiden Instrumenten die Bretter, die die Welt bedeuten: Transkriptionen von Stravinskys Petruschka, vom Rigoletto, vom Faust und, und, und – darunter einige Welt-Ersteinspielungen! Und das alles, ohne knarzende Theatersessel und hustende Nachbarn … Hochvirtuos und dämonisch-sinnlich, höllisch und himmlisch!

 

Igor Stravinsky. Three Movements from „Pétrouchka“ (arr. by Victor Babin) 

                        Russian Dance 

                        Pétrouchka 

                        The Shrovetide Fair 

Maurice Ravel. Alborada del gracioso (arr. by Aron Boubelnikov)

Maurice Ravel. La valse (poème choréographique) (arr. by composer) 

Sergei Rachmaninov. Romance "It's lovely here" (arr. by Igor Tsygankov) 

Franz Liszt. Concert Paraphrase on themes from “Rigoletto” by Giuseppe Verdi

(arr. by Adolf Gottlieb)  

Abram Chasins. Carmen Fantasy on themes by Georges Bizet 

Abram Chasins. Fledermaus Fantasy on themes by Johann Strauß 

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. The Flight of the Bumblebee (arr. by Mario Braggiotti) 

Witold Lutosławski. Paganini variations

 

Hier kann die CD bestellt werden

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Johannes Brahms, Works for Piano Duo

Sonate op. 34b
Variationen über ein Thema von Joseph Haydn op. 56b
Variationen über ein Thema von Schumann op. 23


Booklet als PDF

Sie wollen einem berühmten Komponisten einen Blick über die Schulter werfen? Das Klavierduo Olha Chipak und Oleksiy Kushnir macht’s auf ihrer neuen GENUIN-CD möglich: Johannes Brahms arbeitete seine Sonate für zwei Klaviere später zum berühmten Klavierquintett um. Und diese Sonate, mehr als eine reine Vorarbeit, präsentieren die beiden Pianisten in all seiner Leidenschaftlichkeit technisch so meisterhaft, dass man die Streicherfarben überhaupt nicht vermisst – und genau so leuchten die Orchesterfarben der Haydn-Variationen aus zwei Mal 88 Tasten! Die selten gespielten Variationen über ein Thema von Schumann schließlich sind eine melancholische Hommage an den verstorbenen Freund, Schumann und Brahms in einem Stück.

Süddeutsche Zeitung  vom 30. März 2011

„Alles muss aus dem Klavier kommen, und was nicht kommen kann, muss mitschwingen im Kopforchester des Hörers. Das Klavierduo Olha Chipak und Oleksiy Kushnir (...) leisten da ganz Außerordentliches. Vor allem spielen sie so frei und individuell, wie man es bei den immer auf perfekte Abstimmung getrimmten Klavierduos nie hört. Trotzdem klingen Chipak und Kushnir wie ein einziger großer Flügel. Großartig.“

Pizzicato
"Brahms liegt dem ukrainischen Klavierduo Olha Chipak und Oleksyi Kushnir sehr. Sie loten den Reichtum seiner Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten nämlich bestens aus."
Rezension im Magazin Pizzicato, Ausgabe 3 / 2012
Klassik.com
"Die zweite CD-Aufnahme des ukrainischen Klavierduos Olha Chipak/Oleksiy Kushnir bestätigt den Eindruck, den bereits ihre erste CD-Aufnahme aus dem Jahr 2007 weckte: Dass sich hier ein besonders ausdrucksstarkes Gespann auf den Weg nach ganz oben spielt."
Rezension auf Klassik.com vom 2.9.2011
Piano News
"Das Duo aus der Ukraine hat mit diesem Album beachtliche Fähigkeiten zu zyklischer Interpretation demonstriert."
Hans-Dieter Grünefeld
Rezension im Magazin Piano News 2/2012
Klassik heute
"Man höre allein das wirkliche Piano, die zauberische Atmosphäre in der Themen-Exposition der Haydn-Variationen (...), und dann den Wechsel dieser berückend sensiblen Passagen mit einem weich abgerundeten, leuchtenden Tutti in den folgenden Variationen."
Rezension auf Klassik heute vom 12.08.2011

Leipziger Volkszeitung  vom 13. Mai 2011

„Die Musiker aus der Ukraine, Absolventen in Rostock und mit Preisen überhäuft, wechseln meisterlich zwischen kammermusikalischer Konzentration und orchestraler Üppigkeit, wie es auch in den Haydn- und Schumann-Variationen zu spüren ist.“



Hörproben

miaowmusic - Bubble (mp3/ogg) Sonate. Allegro non troppo
Sonate. Andante, um poco Adagio
Sonate. Scherzo- Allegro
Haydn-Variationen. Thema: „Chorale St.Antoni“
Haydn-Variationen. Var.6 – Vivace
Haydn-Variationen. Var.7 – Grazioso
Haydn-Variationen. Finale-Andante
Schumann-Variationen. Var.1- Andante molto moderato
Schumann-Variationen. Var. 3
Schumann-Variationen. Var.5 – Poco piu animato
Schumann-Variationen. Var.8 – Poco piu vivo


Die CD kann hier bestellt werden.


Piano Duo - Olha Chipak & Oleksiy Kushnir
Johannes Brahms, Max Reger & Sergei Rachmaninov
EAN 4820037060015



Auf der ersten CD des Piano Duos Olha Chipak & Oleksiy Kushnir finden sich Werke von Johannes Brahms, Max Reger und Sergei Rachmaninov.

Die „Variationen über ein Thema von Haydn, op.56b“ sind der Tribut der Liebe von Brahms an die klassische Kunst. Ihr Thema ist das alte Lied der Pilger, “Choral des Heiligen Antonius“, das als zweiter Teil des von J. Haydn komponierten Divertissements für Blasinstrumente bekannt wurde. Die acht Variationen sind wie acht tiefsinnige Bilder, in denen Brahms den Reichtum seiner romantischen Empfindungen zeigt. Der Zyklus wird von dem Finale in Form einer Passacaglia mit Coda gekrönt, die dadurch erreichte, monumentale Vollendung ist dem majestätischen Finale der Vierten Sinfonie von J.Brahms ebenbürtig.

Max Reger verbindet das Zeitalter der Romantik mit der Neuen Zeit und greift gleichzeitig die polyphonen Formen und barocken Kompositionstechniken wieder auf. In seinem Werk „Variationen und Fuge über ein Thema von Beethoven, op86“ wird jede Variation zum gesonderten Musikstück, mit eigenem Genre, Entwicklungstyp und Charakter – aufgeregt, elegieähnlich oder feierlich. Und als ein großer Meister der Fuge vollendet Reger den Opus mit einer hoheitsvollen Fuge.

Suite No.2 op.17 wurde von Sergei Rachmaninov fast zur gleichen Zeit, wie sein berühmtes 2. Klavierkonzert geschaffen. Die beiden Werke vergießen hemmungslos innige, lyrische Gefühle, die die Seele des jungen Musikers erfüllten. Die Suite, bestehend aus vier Teilen (Introduktion, Walzer, Romanze und Tarantella), gilt als ein glänzendes Konzertstück, das durch prachtvollen Klang und virtuosen Reichtum beeindruckt und in sich die Rachmaninovsche, romantische Deutung des Klaviers trägt.

Das Piano Duo Olha Chipak & Oleksiy Kushnir dringt mit seinem Spiel tief in die Essenz, in das Wesen der Werke ein und schafft mit fatalistischer Energie und viel Sensibilität ein originäres Werk der Gegenwart. Dramaturgisch geschickt entfesseln sie in der Sprache der Musik rhythmische Kräfte und hinterlassen harmonisch-reiche Höreindrücke. Mit viel künstlerischem Ernst werden ein Panorama aus frischen und lebendigen Farb- und Klangverwandlungen und eine individuelle Musiksprache geschaffen. Die melodischen Inspirationen treiben den Hörer nach vorne und korrespondieren mit feinfühligen Tönen. Zu Recht hat das Piano Duo in den vergangenen Jahren mehrere bedeutende Preise und Auszeichnungen für ihre geistvolle Spielart erhalten. Ein Genuss für den, der versteht …

„Groß dimensionierte Zyklen passen zum Naturell des ukrainischen Klavierduos, denn sie haben die Grandezza , um solchen Werken die Konturen zu geben. In klaren Lineaturen und Transparenz der Polyphonie folgen sie den „Variationen über ein Thema von J.Haydn“ von J.Brahms, subtil entwickeln sie die Variationen von M.Reger und schrecken nicht vor seinem monumentalen Stil zurück. (...) Mit viel Feinsinn im hemmungslosen lyrischen Pathos von S.Rachmaninov bebt seine zweite Suite unter ihren Händen!“
PianoNews vom Juni/Juli, 2009

Die CD kann hier bestellt werden.

Hörproben:

Johannes Brahms, Thema: Chorale St. Antoni. Andante
Johannes Brahms, Variation 3: Con moto
Johannes Brahms, Variation 5: Andante
Max Reger, Variation 1: Un poco piu lento
Max Reger, Variation 7: Vivace
Sergei Rachmaninov, Walzer